The Dinner Drill

I’ve never been a cook. I don’t have the gene that causes a person to derive pleasure from constructing a meal and watching people’s pleasure as they scarf it. I love to eat, and I can find ways to enjoy meal – making – but really – alien territory for me, mostly.

(Just ask the people who have had to eat my bizarre food combinations.)

Anyway, as a single working mother, I have to make dinner every single night – for two picky children, and sometimes for adults who require more sophisticated creations. Yikes.

One of my favorite ways to deal with this daily challenge is as pictured – my fresh fruit and veggies with hummus and cheese plate, easily turned into a ridiculous happy face, easily put together, and easily ramped up into something more spectacular. (I would assume.)

Make Me Dinner!
I will never forget the radio story I heard on NPR about the place in Spain where mamas whose children have left the nest but who want to cook big, traditional meals have formed an online service where young professionals who don’t have time to cook can order this home-cooked food – even form a steady relationship with a local mother.

Collective Solution
Wouldn’t that be fantastic? I would like to see more collective-type enterprises like this start up in Cville. I’m thrilled with the new local Retail Relay service - that’s the right idea – a grocery delivery service that shops at a variety of local stores and CSAs.  Sure, Cville has a bunch of stay-at-home moms and those who can afford help, but there’s a lot of working parents, too.

Toy shares, toy exchanges, CSAs… all heading in the right direction. I don’t think the barter thing took off… but I like the idea…

The only problem: I don’t know that I have either time or money to put in the pot. Unless you can somehow quantify my children – certainly their health and wellbeing is worth something to the larger society?

Thoughts, ideas?

2 Responses to The Dinner Drill

  1. Hi! I have recently been introduced to the crock pot. I always stayed away from it because I associated fatting and non-nutritous meals. I love to eat healthy and have my family to the same. Well, I was surprisingly delighted to find lots of healthy meal options and best yet, super easy! You can put everything in the pot in the morning and by evening you have a great meal that can please the kids and grown ups. I have many recipes if you are interested!

  2. Mary Beth says:

    “adults who require more sophisticated creations”…….(nicely put, Marshall…..don’t think I don’t know what you’re saying!)

    But for real, I like the home-cooked meal service! I would totally buy that!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

