To CoHouse or Not to CoHouse

Looks like the answer for the Crozet cohousing is a big yes – and I’m glad for them. Listen to this short podcast on it from Charlottesville Tomorrow.

I did, in fact, go to an informational meeting about this community, as I was interested in living in community, sharing lawnmowers with neighbors, attempting sustainable and green living standards…

But when they said they couldn’t decide what to do about dogs – I realized I was not a good candidate. We have a fenced-in backyard for our beloved Billy, and without it, we could not survive. To leave that kind of decision up to a group – well, it just wouldn’t work for our family.

Then visions of what to do if we get too loud one night – or maybe someone doesn’t like my kid – what then?

I much prefer my old-fashioned neighborhood, where everyone knows each other and helps each other out – like the guy next door who helped us rake last weekend, bringing over his blower and cheerfully helping us out for several hours – like the woman across the street who lets our daughter delight in her fairyland garden – like the couple next door who brings us fresh bread and organic cleaning samples –  but when it comes down to it, we leave each other the heck alone.  When the doors are closed – well, privacy ensues. I really like that!!!

Leave a Reply

