Hillary Won Because Women Like Warm Weather

I swear, this is what one of those poopy pundits said last night on MSNBC – that the New Hampshire warm weather brought out the women.

Really? Really? That’s what you came up with?

So far, I haven’t heard that much about gender in regards to Hillary – a little bit, but not like what happened last night, where suddenly all these mushheads had to explain her win somehow – and all they could come up with was to make vague and dumb statements about “women” – as if we’re this strange, odd species coming out of the deep, dark woods, surprising everyone with our heat-seeking presence…

VOMIT TIME! (Probably not the last…)

I loved how The Daily Show threw up a little slide show of male “strong” figures, like Dole and Bush, crying – to combat this idea that HC choking up a little the other day is “feminine.” What is this, 1950?

I have to admit, I’m not won over by Obama – I’m too old or cynical or something to be thrilled by his speeches, which frankly I don’t find that rousing or poetic (not saying he’s not good, just saying I’m not swooning – I guess compared to some of the stick figures around him, it’s impressive?)… but Hillary showing some genuine feeling the other day DID get my attention. Not because she’s a woman, but because she’s a political animal and an intellectual, which usually means she’s not very loose or relaxed, and it was nice to see that side.

But not because I was warmed, or anything.

Obviously, I haven’t been paying attention: There’s a Hillary Sexism Watch going on – some men yelled at her, “Iron my shirt!” WHAT? 

2 Responses to Hillary Won Because Women Like Warm Weather

  1. ChrEliz says:

    I’ll have to go find that Daily Show clip online; that sounds extra-funny. I loved this line “as if we’re this strange, odd species coming out of the deep, dark woods, surprising everyone with our heat-seeking presence…” Totally laughed out loud, literally.

    I am still laughing. I think I’ll be laughing about this all day. You tickle my funny bone. (Sorry, that sounded creepy and lewd, eww.)

    When I read about the Iron My Shirt hecklers, I wondered if Hill planted them. I also think the tears were… I hate to say intentional, but… Perhaps a wee bit mustered up. There’s an excellent Maureen Down op-ed piece in the Times about this: http://www.nytimes.com/2008/01/09/opinion/08dowd.html?em&ex=1200027600&en=cf6254796c09c0cf&ei=5087
    or here’s the TinyURL for it: http://tinyurl.com/24j6lf

    Gotta dash, thanks as always for the excellent thought-provoking and funny blog entry…

    love you
    xtine

  2. Sean Tubbs says:

    I will say, warm weather generally does increase turn-out at elections, across the board.

Leave a Reply

