How do you wake up?

So, I would really like to find more time in my day. What working mom wouldn’t? The answer I keep coming back to is: “If I could just get out of bed 45 minutes earlier, I could…” – what? Let’s see all the possibilities. I could: go to the gym every day OR get into & out of work earlier every day OR take time to sit down & eat breakfast OR take time to read something other than “Goodnight Gorilla” OR take time to make my lunch so I don’t get tempted to eat fast food OR I could go curl up with my wife and just cuddle next to her for a bit since we never get to do that anymore OR a million other things. I know this logically, I feel it in my soul – how great it would be to get up 45 minutes earlier than I currently do. Somehow, none of that is enough to get my lazy butt to stop hitting snooze on either (yes, there are 2 – and yes, they are set ahead & set to go off at different times – I know it’s sad) alarm clock until I’m almost running late every day. I’ve seen those alarm clocks that run away from you when you hit the snooze button. Hi-freakin-larious. I would throw it into a wall when I finally found it, scream every word I shouldn’t in the presence of my angelic sleeping 2-year-old, and be extra pissy all day – so, no, that’s not an option. I’ve tried putting the clock on the other side of the room – yep, I’ll snooze & get back in bed. I think my only option at this point is to get a rooster. Can you set them for a specific time?

5 Responses to How do you wake up?

  1. ChrEliz says:

    I’ve got the opposite problem. My 4 year old and my 20 month old wake up at 5:50am every day. Thank goodness I’ve got the 4 year old trained to read the clock. No one’s allowed to wake up mom and dad until 6am. Of course, I have the clock in their room set a half hour fast, so we *really* get to have peace and quiet til 6:30am real time.

    They play in their room (4 year old scampering about, 20 month old chillin’ in her crib) while they wait for “6 o’clock” to roll around.

    On the days that we really DO need to get out of bed at 6am, I can always just restore the clock in the kids’ room to the real time…

    Wanna borrow my kids? I’d love to sleep in til 9am some day. They’re very well behaved, and they don’t make nearly as much mess or racket as a rooster. They even use words like “please” and “thank you” when starting and finishing their breakfasts. Even the toddler!

    I’ll rent ’em to you. Cheap. ; )

  2. ChrEliz says:

    oops, I mean slow. the clock in their room is set a half hour BEHIND the real time. but you all knew what i meant. : )

  3. bvillemama says:

    No, thanks – as it is, I’m already getting up before 6am in order to get to work by 7.

  4. ChrEliz says:

    Wow, that’s an early day. I know someone who woke up at 4:45 every day in order to exercise before her kids got up. I couldn’t do it! With you having to be at work *by* 7 – wow – I’m impressed that you’re looking to the morning time to find additional minutes for yourself in your day. I would definitely not call you a ‘lazy butt’ for hitting the snooze button at that time of the morning! Whew!

  5. Sarah says:

    I also have a love/hate relationship with my snooze button. Why was it even invented! And forget trying the ones that only let you hit it once, I just won’t get up at all! My wonderful 4 year old is now trained to as quietly as possible, sneak into mommy’s room give me a kiss and then yank open all of the curtains and let me know in his very sweet, very loud voice that it’s time to get up. One day I’ll get up before him!!! Can’t wait for the teenage years!

Leave a Reply

