The Mom Purse

When I was little, it seemed like every mom had a “Mom Purse”. You know it – it’s larger than seems necessary, and full of random crap. The stuff of MacGyver’s dreams – a rubber band here, some toothpicks there, a little lotion, some tissues, a few bottles of pills (just in case). Oh, and of course the abundance of receipts and miscellaneous scraps of paper stuffed into (and falling out of) the checkbook. Change dancing around the bottom of the bag.

Addicted to organizing as I am, I never thought I would have one of these clutter-traps. Turns out I was wrong. I think it’s a rite of passage – once you get your “Mom Purse” you’re officially an adult. I just discovered I have one. Complete randomness and chaos took over the second I bought one of those oversized bags. It’s sad, really…but also allows me many opportunities for reorganizing, which is fun…so maybe not all bad. Am I alone in the battle of the bag? Do you have a “Mom Purse”, and are you willing to admit it? What’s the strangest thing you’ve found in there?

 

2 Responses to The Mom Purse

  1. Mama says:

    I have a forklift in my purse.

    (It’s a toy of course.)

    And lollipops.

    I also have a “mom car.” I keep diapers and wipes in a gallon zipper bag. Cloth books and a spare lovey live in the backseat. And since my son is prone to motion sickness, I’ve also taken to keeping a towel, paper towels, a bottle of water, some plastic bags, and a change of clothes in the car.

    Oh yeah, it’s happened. I’m a mom.

  2. ChrEliz says:

    I keep a travel sized corkscrew in my purse. At all times. There is nothing mom-related about that (though I admit, there have been a few playgroup experiences in my day when I was tempted to start drinking, just to get through it, but that was years ago before I got choosier about playgroups…

    Right now I have an emergency information shoe tag in my purse. They handed them out at the Women’s Four Miler Training last weekend. Once I begin running on an actual road, not the track and not the Va. Polo Center access road across from my house, but a real road, this thing will help the medics identify my crumpled body that will have collapsed from the heat and been struck by vehicles like a piece of roadkill. That’s what I think every time I see it. I need to take it out of my purse, but the other thing I think when I see it is, “Holy sh-t, I am RUNNING. I kick a-s! Go ME!” so I leave it in.

    I have no diaper in my purse. I have no wipes. I have no toys. I do have those things in the car. My 2 year old is almost out of diapers and she rarely needs a change in public now. My mom purse is turning back into just my regular purse. It’s kind of weird. I am going to buy a smaller purse soon. Wow.

Leave a Reply

