Fun Online Shopping: Child Therapy Toys

I was at a local toy store and got taken with a basket of little plastic babies as a great gift for a little girl turning three.

Problem: All of the babies were WHITE.

It’s not that I was trying to be PC or Guilty Liberal or anything (FYI, I’m white, and so is the little girl). It’s just that a basket of white babies looks… unreal to me. Reminds me too much of some kind of disturbed Aryan fantasy. What can I say? I grew up in LA. So I went online. (Sorry, Local-yokels…)

Homie toys

Homies for Sale

And I found a much more globally realistic baby set at Child Therapy Toys – along with some other fun things – like a set of Egyptian figures, with a pyramid – and some Indian goddesses – and HOMIES.

Yep. Homies.

I don’t really understand why there is a set of miniature “homies.” There aren’t miniature gangs or anything. Check it out for yourself and let me know if you have a theory about how homies help play therapists doing therapy with young kids…

One Response to Fun Online Shopping: Child Therapy Toys

  1. Mary Beth says:

    What’s up with the guy on the far left’s face??!! I hope someone has some ideas about this phenomenon!

Leave a Reply

